My experience with editing images is more advance than the average person’s skills. I have always been technologically savvy and I questioned a computer’s ability to create what I imagined. Nonetheless, I had begun with editing images on the very basic of computer applications, Paint. Working all the way zoomed in with my magnifying glass tool, I rearrange photos pixel by pixel. There was no magic wand tool that Adobe Photoshop offered. No, using Paint to “photoshop” pictures was far more tedious, but I enjoyed the labor of it. Since I was only a child when I discovered the uses of Paint, I typically just cut out different cartoons together to create a montage of my favorite shows.

As I got older, MySpace was just coming alive and editing your photos with stickers and filters was all the craze. Photobucket.com was my outlet to keep up with cause and I was able to add more effects to my already edited pictures. The upbringing of Facebook and Instagram transformed the use of filters to compliment selfies. They offered a user friendly platform in which anyone (even your grandparents) can learn to use. But I was not so fascinated the bandwagon form of editing, so I decided to open my mind to the art of image editing during my first high school class of Adobe Photoshop. I learned just about every tool, practiced exercise after exercise from the books, and even entered in various graphic design contests, three of out five in which I won.

I had been a while since I have used Photoshop. From time to time, I use Paint to edit a quick fix on an image because I don’t have any Adobe programs on my current laptop. With my passion of art still breathing, I hope to find my uses of my past skills with image editing.

Though my work isn’t too impressive, internet trolls do seems to have a grand ole time messing with those who can tell the real from make believe. I, for one, have been fooled many times by edited images that skew the truth in celebrity pictures and even of people I know. The ability to mold reality to whatever your mind please can be very powerful, especially when you see no reason to think otherwise. Coleman (pg. 110) refers to how the famous hacker group, Anonymous, otherwise known as trolls, “trolled the Church of Scientology after the church attempted to censor an internal video featuring Tom Cruise that had been leaked.” Though it was seen as trolling at the time, the skewed truth was being protest against.

